The Tart That Changed Everything

blueberrytart

A few months ago I made a firm and definitive statement on this blog: I don’t like yogurt. I told you how throughout my entire life I had attempted to make my peace with this sour dairy product by mixing it with granola or fruit, but to no avail. I simply hated it.

Well, today I am here to openly recant my anti-yogurt diatribe. I’d bow my head in shame except I’m so happy about my recent conversion I can’t hide it. And it’s all because last weekend I made Food & Wine’s glorious Honeyed Yogurt and Blueberry Tart. A smooth sea of honey-enhanced yogurt nestled in an electrically spicy graham cracker crust and dotted with plump, fresh berries has finally vanquished my yogurt-related negativity.

You may be asking why I would even attempt to make Food & Wine’s tart, given my professed aversion to the contents of its cool and creamy center. Honestly, I made this dessert because the recipe looked easy. All it requires is a quick whir of graham crackers, candied ginger, salt, sugar, and one egg white in the food processor. After being shaped into a tart pan, the crust is baked for a mere 20 minutes. (Actually, next time I think I will bake the crust for a few minutes less, as it was slightly overcooked and too crisp after 20 minutes.) The whole process takes less than half an hour and the crust can even be prepared the day before you plan to serve the dessert.

After mixing a few tablespoons of honey into the yogurt, spread the mixture into the cooled baked shell and top it with the blueberries. The slightly sweetened yet still tangy yogurt is perfectly complemented by the ginger-spiced crust and fresh berries. As I cautiously tasted my first bite, for once I was not overwhelmed by the sour flavors I usually associate with yogurt. It may have been the addition of honey that made the difference, or perhaps it was the powerful crust. Whatever the reason, I can’t wait to make it again when blueberries are actually in season. Try this tart. I promise, it will change everything.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Wow, this looks incredible. And I love yogurt, so I’ll probably love this dessert. Have you ever tried Liberte brand plain or flavored yogurts? They’re my current favorite. So many yogurts are so bland and weird, but this is creamy, tart and lovely. Also, Siggi’s is an interesting brand with great flavors, but very expensive. Thanks for the tart!

  2. 2

    Christina said,

    EIB-I’ve never tried the Liberte brand, but now I’ll look for it. Thanks! I have tried Siggi’s yogurt, which I think is great, but I just haven’t gotten into the habit of buying it. For this tart I used Greek Fage yogurt, which worked wonderfully. I bet you would really like this dessert!

  3. 3

    Bridget said,

    I just found you through The Perfect Pantry. I’m so glad you posted about this tart. I planned to make it this weekend for company, but was thinking twice about it. I’m definitely making it now! :)

    I just tried Lydia’s lemon yogurt concoction for lunch today…it’s delicious!

  4. 4

    Christina said,

    Bridget-A friend of mine also made this tart over the weekend, for a last-minute dinner party. She and her guests loved it as well. Good luck with it, and thanks for your comment!

  5. 5

    Lane said,

    I’ve been working all day looking at pastries for this restaurant menu design for this pastries shop in Chicago. Now all I wanna do is eat sweets all night. I gotta find find a great recipice before the end of the night so I can make something tasty! mmmmmhhhhhh good.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

