Flaky Blood Orange Tart

Food & Wine’s Flaky Blood Orange Tart

We’re taking off for California in a few hours, and I won’t post again until after the New Year. But I wanted to leave you with this beautiful blood orange tart, which I made last week from a recipe in January’s Food & Wine magazine.

I had been trying to figure out what to do with the six blood oranges left over from last weekend’s holiday crostini. After spending $15 on the rotund citrus fruits, I refused to let any of them go to waste. Luckily, Food & Wine gave me the perfect use for them.

I assembled the tart on Tuesday night after work, and then wrapped it in plastic and froze it until Thursday night, when I baked it in the oven for an hour and 15 minutes. While the assembly phase was as labor-intensive as those pesky crostini, the actual baking part was easy: The tart went directly from the freezer into the oven, making it possible for me to relax during our rack of lamb dinner.

When we finally tasted the tart after it cooled, we discovered that the crust was one of the flakiest, most buttery ones I had ever made. Sure, it was slightly charred at the edges, but this small error didn’t make a difference in the overall effect. The acidic, sparkling oranges were balanced by sweet layers of sugar, and I spent the rest of the week eating this crostata for dessert, then for breakfast, and for dessert again. Now that’s what I call a holiday present. Thanks, Food & Wine!

Happy Holidays!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ann said,

    I actually quite like the charred bits on pies/tarts. My mom always thought that was weird. I hope you guys have a wonderful New Year!

  2. 2

    Christina said,

    Thanks so much for the New Year’s wishes, and Happy New Year to you as well! My husband is also a fan of the charred pie bits, so it looks like we’re both covered on that front. But after all this holiday feasting, I am looking forward to some quality time with vegetables!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

