Motivation

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me. I’ve spent the past few days trying to write a new post, but the words won’t come. I stare at the blank computer screen, type out a few sentences, and then quickly delete them. I’m out of sorts and, I fear, out of blog posts.

What’s funny about this situation is that lately I’ve been cooking up a storm. Nothing too exciting or labor-intensive, but I’ve been using seasonal ingredients in simple ways and trying out a lot of new recipes. With all this home cooking going on, Jim and I haven’t been eating out much—hence I don’t even have any restaurant experiences to write about.

But at least we’re enjoying all of these personally prepared meals while we retreat into nesting mode. (Perhaps we’re getting a head start on winter?) Food & Wine has helped us put some new dishes on the table, from the Triple Tomato Penne I made last night to the Pork with Arugula, Prosciutto, and Tomatoes and Crisp Vegetable Gratin we had a few weeks ago. Jamie Oliver’s Sweet Cherry Tomato and Sausage Bake may have been the easiest yet most exciting dish I made all summer, while his farro with roasted vegetables from Jamie’s Italy didn’t quite work for us.  

You would think that with this flurry of kitchen activity I’d be inspired to write post after post, with hardly a pause in between. Somehow this hasn’t happened. As I said earlier, I don’t know why, but I hope you’ll bear with me. Maybe I just need a weekend to recharge my blogging batteries. I’ll do my best.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’ve had the same problem keeping my head clear and focused lately, but persistence pays off! Seasonal vegetables always make me feel better and simple dishes are the absolute best!

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    It happens to all of us! I also have periods where I have zero desire to blog, though plenty of potential fodder. Motivation will return!

  3. 3

    Helen said,

    I think everyone has this problem from time to time. Just don’t try to force it, what will be will be. Perhaps you just need a few days rest.

  4. 4

    Christina said,

    Hi Ashley, Erin, and Helen–Thanks for your comments and support! I’m sure I will back soon. I have a couple of ideas brewing…I think I just needed a little break. Thanks again!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

