Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza

Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza for World Nutella Day

Now here’s a holiday I can really get into: World Nutella Day. Organized by bloggers Ms. Adventures in Italy and Bleeding Espresso, this annual event celebrates its 2nd Anniversary on February 5th. All you need in order to participate is a love for Nutella, the creamy Italian hazelnut spread. That’s a requirement I can handle.

When I found out about this event a few days ago, I knew I wanted to celebrate the chocolaty spread with a recipe. We’ve known each other for a long time. While I was growing up, Nutella often visited my Italian-born mother’s pantry. It accompanied me home from my Italian study abroad trip in college and, more recently, from various business trips to Italy. But what kind of recipe could I create that would be worthy of this beloved snack food? After discussing the possibilities during a homemade pizza dinner with Jim, I realized I had the answer right in my hands: Nutella pizza!

As a child I devoured Nutella on white bread, enjoying it as a decadent alternative to peanut butter and jelly. But since I’m much older and wiser now, I wanted to incorporate a healthy aspect into my soon-to-be-devised dessert. I decided that a whole-wheat pizza crust would pair well with the nutty chocolate spread.

For my first attempt, I started with Cooking Light’s recipe for whole-wheat pizza dough. After I assembled the dough, I rolled it out, placed it on my pizza stone, and baked it for 12 minutes at 500 degrees. I let the crust cool and then joyously coated it with Nutella, adding a few bananas as well. That was the end of my Nutella-inspired fun, as unfortunately the crust was brittle and inedible. Something in my approach needed to change.

My biggest obstacle was the crust. Baking it without toppings had led to an inflexible and harsh crust, something more akin to a crisp cracker. During my second try a few days later, I melted some butter and brushed it onto the rolled-out dough before baking. Then I baked the crust at a lower temperature of 400 degrees for 12 minutes. I could see the difference as soon as I opened the oven door: The crust was brown and tender, the melted butter inviting and glistening. Instead of letting the crust cool, I slathered the Nutella on immediately, hoping that some of the moisture would be absorbed by the hot crust. More bananas, some powdered sugar, and my pizza was ready.

I took a bite and noticed that while the crust was still crispy, it was definitely softer than my first attempt. The nutty flavor of the whole-wheat crust was a complimentary base to the creamy Nutella spread and bananas. So while it took a few tries to get it right, my Nutella pizza arrived right in time for Nutella Day. I’m relieved. Grab a spoon and dig into your Nutella jar; it’s time to celebrate!

Recipe for Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza
Prepare Cooking Light’s recipe for Whole-Wheat Dough (I substitute olive oil for cooking spray, but I doubt it makes a big difference. I also make the whole recipe and freeze half of it for another time. For this recipe, I use 1/4 of the dough in order to create a smaller pie, but feel free to create a bigger pie.)World Nutella Day

  • Cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon melted unsalted butter
  • Nutella
  • Powdered sugar
  • 1/2 banana, sliced

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and place pizza stone inside. While the stone is heating, roll out the dough into a thin circle on a floured surface. When stone is ready (it should pre-heat for at least 15 minutes), remove from oven and sprinkle with cornmeal. Place dough on the stone and brush with melted butter. Bake crust for 12 minutes at 400 degrees. Crust will be brown and slightly bubbly when ready.

Remove pizza stone from the oven and shift crust to a plate. Brush generously with Nutella. Add sliced bananas (or experiment with whatever fruit you prefer). Sprinkle with powdered sugar. Serve immediately. Serves 4 as dessert. Enjoy! 

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mmm….Pizza and Nutella! Great! Thanks for participating!

  2. 2

    Fabulous, and completely healthy in my book with the whole wheat and bananas 😉

  3. 3

    […] pide a gritos la dulzura de la nocilla”. Y nosotros flipábamos. Lo mismo me pasó al ver que venden pizza con nutella. Tampoco me […]

  4. 4

    […] of Artichoke Heart contributes this Nutella and Banana Whole Wheat Pizza, again combining some of my favorite things. Check out another version at NYC/Caribbean […]

  5. 5

    Kathi Budesa said,

    I intended to send you the very little note just to thank you as before with your magnificent advice you have shared on this page. It is generous of you to supply openly precisely what some people would’ve made available for an ebook to make some profit for their own end, mostly now that you could have tried it in the event you decided. Those tips also acted as a good way to realize that other individuals have similar interest like my personal own to learn very much more related to this matter. I know there are lots of more pleasurable situations in the future for many who read carefully your website.

  6. 6

    just bookmarked your site. keep up the posts

  7. 7

    […] and one of the first things to come out of our kitchen (much to the kids’ delight) was this Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza from Artichoke Heart. The Nutella pizza is interesting because it’s sweet but it’s not […]

  8. 8

    great points altogether, you simply received a logo new reader. What could you suggest about your put up that you simply made a few days ago? Any certain?

  9. 9

    Terrific work! This can be a sort of info which might be allowed to be distributed around the internet. A sense of shame on Google with no for a longer period placing this placed greater! Can occur in excess of and also take a look at this internet site. Thank you Equates to)

  10. 10

    Una persona esencialmente ayuda perceptiblemente artículos que había estado .
    Esto es primera vez que frecuentaba su página web y hasta el momento ?

    Me sorprendió sorprendido con la investigación análisis que
    hizo al crear hacer este real enviar increíble .
    Gran Actividad !

  11. 11

    […] Nutella and Banana Whole Wheat Pizza Recipe from Artichoke Heart […]

  12. 12

    Shiela Romey said,

    There are certainly lots of particulars like that to take into consideration. That could be a great point to convey up. I provide the ideas above as common inspiration however clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important factor might be working in trustworthy good faith. I don?t know if finest practices have emerged round things like that, but I’m sure that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Each boys and girls feel the impression of only a second’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  13. 13

    Muoi Kaus said,

    Bitcoin has experienced incredible growth during the last few years and there will be some who will claim that the bubble is about to end and the currency crumble. Many of us continue to support the concept of a user owned currency system outside of the reach of the financial establishment. We won’t accept that the currency is finished. We shall be sticking with Bitcoin and I am quite confident that it will keep rising faster than before. The banks are naturally concerned about the success of crypto currency. Their worry is fuelled by the reality that crypto currency does not generate large fees. Bitcoin fees are a fraction of the transaction compared to the fees that conventional banks charge. The use of a manual platform similar to Bitcoin Surfing will give you the opportunity to find what new offers which are out there in the world of bitcoin. Mining Bitcoin is a good way to begin growing your Bitcoin investment. Open a free Bitcoin account with Coinbase and you will be given $10 deposit of Bitcoin for no charge to get you going. There are lots of offers to get you involved in the new currency and Bitcoin Surfing is the best way to start. Not only that it won’t cost you anything.

  14. 14

    ceo of bitcoin Exchange found dead in singapore

    Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza | Artichoke Heart

  15. 15

    timeweb dedicated server

    Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza | Artichoke Heart

  16. 16

    read on said,

    read on

    Nutella and Banana Whole-Wheat Pizza | Artichoke Heart


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment